LovecyclingSG

We Ride as a team, Eat as a team, Suffer as a team, Finish as a team. E.R.P = Eat, Ride, Photo. It is about friendship and sharing people your neighbourhood and special places.
 
HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Opinion required

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
MrMeow

avatar

Posts : 23
Join date : 2011-01-11
Location : Bedok Reservoir

PostSubject: Opinion required   Sat Jun 25, 2011 5:00 pm

Hi, need some opinion from fellow cyclist.

Between a brompton M6 and a Dahon smooth hound, which will u choose?
Brompton has a nice fold but is more expensive n has a small 16 inche wheels,

Smooth hound, folding wise only bi-fold but ride wise, it's super smooth, as the name suggest.
It feels light n effort less to cycle on the smooth hound.
Price wise is nearly $700 cheaper than a brompton.

Both has classic look.
I like the brompton's fold and the smooth hound ride.
Your opinion pls.

Thanks
Very Happy Laughing
Back to top Go down
tylsteve



Posts : 203
Join date : 2010-12-20

PostSubject: Re: Opinion required   Sat Jun 25, 2011 5:18 pm

These two bikes are very different, even if they are both folding bikes. The Brompton's strong point is of course the fold, and it rides pretty good too. If your emphasis is on portability, the Brompton will fit you better.

On the other hand, if you want the feel of a full sized bike, the Smoothhound will be more suitable. The folding is helpful sometimes, but I feel that it is only useful if you put it in a car. Quite difficult to transport a Smoothhound on public transport.
Back to top Go down
eekee

avatar

Posts : 76
Join date : 2011-04-12

PostSubject: Re: Opinion required   Sat Jun 25, 2011 10:11 pm

Yeap, Steve sums it all.

Brompton fold and roll is one of the best. Great if you're going to use MRT a lot.

If the above is not a must, then there are plenty of other choices around.




Back to top Go down
omegaforest

avatar

Posts : 333
Join date : 2010-12-20
Location : West, Alexandra

PostSubject: Re: Opinion required   Sat Jun 25, 2011 11:34 pm

Steve is our official spokesman! hahah

If you do not need a bike urgently...wait a while for TERN. Some interesting bikes on the way.
Back to top Go down
http://www.omegaforest.com
bananamatronix

avatar

Posts : 203
Join date : 2011-01-13
Location : Tiong Bahru

PostSubject: Re: Opinion required   Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:14 pm

it would really depend what you need most out of your bike. i got a brompton because i don't really cycle fast and i travel a lot with my bike.
Back to top Go down
http://unfoldandcycle.com
studio54



Posts : 5
Join date : 2011-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Opinion required   Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:02 pm

MrMeow, I happen to have a Smooth Hound and a dahon foldie. The smooth hound is not a really a foldie. It is more like a bicycle which can easily be dismantle and assembly easily. If you seeks for a smooth ride, i am certain smooth hound will provide a better experience as compare to a foldie, a mtb . If you need to bicycle which foldie and assembly frequently, smooth hound may not be good for you. But, you own a reasonable size saloon car and use it for to transport your ride. A smooth hound has not issues fitting into the boot or the rear seats.



Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Opinion required   

Back to top Go down
 
Opinion required
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
LovecyclingSG :: All about bikes :: Bike talk-
Jump to: